Marvel Announces New Series in FEAR ITSELF #7.1 [SPOILERS]

A Recent History of EVENT Follow-Ups


**Huge spoilers for this week's Fear Itself #7.1 follow!***

This week's Fear Itself #7.1 contains a surprise — the announcement of a new Winter Soldier series, debuting in 2012 from writer Ed Brubaker and artist Butch Guice, CBR reports.

The true surprise comes in the fact that the book evidently stars James "Bucky" Barnes, somehow surviving being killed in action by Sin in the pages of Fear Itself #3. The issue is on sale today.


CBR also ran the page containing the announcement, showing Bucky starting his current mission statement — redemption for the criminal acts he committed as the brainwashed Winter Soldier.


This news appears to tie together several recent hints. Marvel released a teaser last month promoting a comic book debuting January 2012 featuring the words "What if there wasn't only one?" and a red star on a black background. The publisher's January 2012 solicitations listed something titled "BRUBAKER PROJECT #1" on sale Jan. 4, and on Brubaker's Twitter account on Tuesday, he wrote, "Anyone curious about my next big Marvel project needs to pick up the book called Fear Itself #7.1: Captain America - it's revealed there."

Keep reading Newsarama for more as this develops.

Got a comment? There's lots of conversation on Newsarama's FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Twitter activity