Newsarama Readers' Favorites of '10 Tourney: WRITER Rd. 1

The Tournament has returned!

Last year, you helped pick Newsarama's Favorites of 2009. Rather than a traditional top 10 list, we enlisted you the readers to figure out who or what was number one.

We went through several rounds and several weeks to come up with our readers' favorites of 2009 in these categories:

Writer: Geoff Johns

Artist: Ivan Reis

Cover: Detective Comics #855 (by J.H. Williams III)

Limited Series: Blackest Night

Ongoing Series: Green Lantern

This year we've brought back the tournament with a couple little tweaks. First, there will be on extra round, since we're starting things off a week earlier than last year. We'll also be running a new category, Favorite Indie, which will use the top indie nominees from both Limited and Ongoing Series.

If you don't see your favorite on here, know that you're not alone. From our 10 contributors, we had 66 different writers named; narrowing it to 16 was very nearly a criminal act.

And now, the moment you've all been waiting for, of course, Round One of your Favorite Writer of 2010!  You don't have to be registered to vote, but you can also click the "leave a comment" button and jump to our forums to campaign for your favorites. What are you doing? Go! Vote!

Newsarama Note: Full methodology for nomination is below the polls. Voting is open until Sunday, Dec 12 at 5pm EST.

{{ embed="20101206" }}

10 Newsarama contributors submitted their lists for their personal Top 20 in each of the five categories. The results were tabulated using a weighted system that awarded an escalating number points according to how high the nominee appeared on the list - 20th place was worth 1 point, 19th place 2 points ... up to 20 points for 1st place.

The final nominee lists are the top 16 nominees with the highest point totals in each category.

Each bracket is seeded according to point total, with the highest vote-getter in each bracket moving onto the next round.

There will be 4 total rounds for each category (the “Sweet 16”, "Elite 8", “Final Four” and Finals) eventually resulting in one overall “Favorite of 2010” for each group.

So who won this round for you and why? So who won this round for you and why?

Twitter activity