THE SUICIDE SQUAD Official Cast Announced

Margot Robbie
Credit: Warner Bros.

The Suicide Squad writer/director James Gunn has announced the official cast of the film on his social media platforms, posting an image bearing the names of two dozen actors.

Gunn's post came only with the caption "Don't get too attached" - implying the many if not most of the characters in the film won't make it out alive, true to the team's nature. What Gunn didn't include was which characters each castmember would be playing.

Here's the list, some of which are entirely new additions and some of which are confirmations of previously reported castings:

David Dastmalchian (Polka-Dot Man, reported)
John Cena
Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang)
Joaquin Cosio
Nathan Fillion
Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flagg)
Mayling Ng
Flula Borg
Sean Gunn
Juan Diego Botto
Storm Reid
Pete Davidson
Taika Waititi
Alice Braga
Steve Agee (King Shark, reported)
Tinashe Kajese
Daniela Melchior
Peter Capaldi
Julio Ruiz
Jennifer Holland
Viola Davis (Amanda Waller)
Idris Elba
Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn)
Michael Rooker

Elba was initially cast as Deadshot, taking over for Will Smith who portrayed the character in the first film. However it was later announced he'd instead play a still undisclosed role. Returning from the first film are Margot Robbie, Viola Davis, Joel Kinnaman, and Jai Courtney.

Peter Capaldi, Pete Davidson, Taika Waititi, Flula Borg, John Cena, and Nathan Fillion were all previously reported to have undisclosed roles in the film, while David Dastmalchian's reported role as Polka-Dot Man and Steve Agee's voice role as King Shark have been reported for some time. Michael Rooker previously denied reports he'd been cast in the film, though it's possible he simply hadn't yet taken a role in the film. 

Joaquin Cosio, Mayling Ng, Sean Gunn, Juan Diego Botto, Storm Reid Tinashe Kajese, Daniela Melchior, Julio Ruiz, and Jennifer Holland are all newly announced here.

The Suicide Squad is due out in theaters August 6, 2021.

Twitter activity