Russ Manning
Credit: Russ Manning

Press Release

Comic-Con (Comic-Con International) is pleased to announced this year’s nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award (commonly referred to as The Manning Award).

The Manning Award has been given out annually at Comic-Con in San Diego since 1982. It is presented to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Russ was a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The first recipient of the award was former Manning assistant Dave Stevens, who went on to create The Rocketeer. Other past recipients have included Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, and Greg Smallwood, to name a few.

The 2019 nominees are:
Lorena Alvarez, writer/artist of Hicotea and Nightlights (Nobrow)
Ellen T. Crenshaw, artist of Kiss Number 8 (First Second)
M. J. Kim, artist of Faith: Dreamside (Valiant)
Sumit Kumar, artist of These Savage Shores (Vault Comics) and Ruin of Thieves (Action Lab)
Kieran McKeown, artist of Halo: Lone Wolf (Dark Horse)

The nominees are truly international: While Crenshaw and Kim are in the U.S. (Los Angeles and New York), Alvarez hails from Bogota, Colombia, Kumar lives in India, and McKeown is Irish.

The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. The winner will be chosen by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants. The recipient will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on the evening of July 19 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

More information about the Manning Awards can be found at http://www.comic-con.org/awards/russ-manning

Twitter activity