Readers' Favorite WRITER of 2009: GEOFF JOHNS

Readers Fave WRITER of 2009: GEOFF JOHNS

The tournament started by having 11 Newsarama Contributors submit lists of 20. Amongst these, there were 88 names submitted for the "Favorite Writer" category. Many capable writers barely missed the top 16, like Jason Aaron and Paul Dini, while relative newcomers to the mainstream comic world like Kieron Gillen and Paul Tobin landed several nominations. However, it came down to a list of 16, 4 brackets of 4, and the voting began. After one week, only 4 remained, and then it came down to two. DC Entertainment reigned supreme, as the architects of their last several "events," Grant Morrison and Geoff Johns, stood as the finalists.

There were over 8,000 votes in this final round, and you were heard loud and clear. Not everyone agreed, and Morrison got nearly 2000 votes. However, with the rousing success of Blackest Night and other ongoings and minis fresh in your minds, Geoff Johns was declared Newsarama's Readers' Favorite Writer of 2009. Here's what a few of you had to say:


Morrison is a great writer. but if we're looking at just this year, like we should be Johns definitely wins.


Really can't go wrong here, but I think Johns had the more distinguished year. Too bad we didn't do this the year of 7 Soldiers.

Does anyone else think sometimes how cool 52 was with the power of those writers working together. Just a random thought.


Geoff Johns, all the way. I have a lot of respect for Morrison, he's written some of my favorite comics ever,

but he's a shell of his former self and even if he was at the top of his game, I'd still give it to Johns based on the

year Johns had.

The full bracket is below:


BRACKET #1: Geoff Johns,  Sterling Gates, Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning, Fred Van Lente & Greg Pak

BRACKET #2: Grant Morrison, J. Michael Straczynski, James Robinson & Greg Rucka, Gail Simone

BRACKET #3: Mark Waid, Warren Ellis, Peter J Tomasi, Ed Brubaker

BRACKET #4: Brian Michael Bendis, Greg Rucka, Robert Kirkman, Matt Fraction


BRACKET #1: Geoff Johns Vs. Greg Rucka

BRACKET #2: Grant Morrison Vs. Ed Brubaker


Geoff Johns Vs. Grant Morrison

There is still time to vote in the other Final Rounds:

Click here to vote for Favorite ARTIST of 2009, Final Round

Click here to vote for Favorite COVER of 2009, Final Round

Click here to vote for Favorite LIMITED SERIES of 2009, Final Round

Click here to vote for Favorite ONGOING SERIES of 2009, Final Round

Twitter activity