Deadpool 2
Credit: 20th Century Fox

The nominees for GLAAD's 2019 Media Awards, which honor positive depicitions of LGBTQ+ people in media, have been announced.

Topping the list of comic book-related nominees are Deadpool 2, which garnered a nomination for Outstanding Film, while Black Lightning, Supergirl, and Wynonna Earp were each nominated for Outstanding Drama Series. 

Here are the full lists of nominees in both categories:

Outstanding Film

  • Blockers- Universal
  • Crazy Rich Asians- Warner Bros.
  • Deadpool 2- 20th Century Fox
  • The Girl in the Spider's Web- Sony Pictures
  • Love, Simon- 20th Century Fox

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Billions- Showtime
  • Black Lightning- The CW
  • Grey's Anatomy- ABC
  • Handmaid's Tale- Hulu
  • Instinct- CBS
  • Pose- FX
  • Shadowhunters- Freeform
  • Star- Fox
  • Supergirl- The CW
  • Wynonna Earp- Syfy

Additionally, here's the full list of nominees in GLAAD's Outstanding Comic Book category:

  • Batwoman, written by Marguerite Bennett, K. Perkins, Scott Godlewski, Fernando Blanco, John Rauch, Deron Bennett - DC Comics
  • Bingo Love, written by Tee Franklin, Jenn St-onge, Joy San, Cardinal Rae - Image Comics
  • Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, written by Mark Russell, Mike Feehan, Mark Morales, Sean Parsons, José Marzan Jr., Paul Mounts, Dave Sharpe - DC Comics
  • Fence, written by C.S. Pacat, Johanna the Mad, Joana LaFuente, Jim Campbell - BOOM! Studios
  • Iceman, written by Sina Grace, Robert Gill, Nathan Stockman, Ed Tadeo, Rachelle Rosenberg, Federico Blee, Joe Sabino - Marvel Comics
  • Lumberjanes: The Infernal Compass, written by Lilah Sturges, Polterink, Jim Campbell - BOOM! Studios
  • Oh S#!t It's Kim & Kim, written by Magdalene Visaggio, Eva Cabrera, Claudia Aguirre, Zakk Saam - Black Mask Comics
  • Runaways, written by Rainbow Rowell, Kris Anka, David Lafuente, Takeshi Miyazawa, Matthew Wilson, Triona Tree Farrell, Jim Campbell, Michael Garland, Joe Caramagna - Marvel Comics
  • Star Wars: Doctor Aphra, written by Kieron Gillen, Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Kev Walker, Marc Deering, Rachelle Rosenberg, Java Tartaglia, Joe Caramagna, Travis Lanham - Marvel Comics
  • Strangers in Paradise XXV, written by Terry Moore - Abstract Studio

The winners of the 2019 GLAAD Media Awards will be announced in two ceremonies, first in Los Angeles on March 28, followed by a ceremony in New York on May 4.

Twitter activity