2018 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids' Comics
Credit: Various

The nominees for the 2018 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids' Comics has been announced. Named after the late writer Dwayne McDuffie, this annual award aims to highlight the best comics of the year for school-aged childen and young teens, using four main criteria: quality, timelessness, originality, and diversity.

This year's judges were Alenka Figa, Ardo Omer, and Shayauna Glover.

The winner will be announced June 16 in a ceremony at the Ann Arbor Comic Arts Festival.

The ten finalists are:

  • As the Crow Flies by Melanie Gilman
  • The Backstagers Volume 1: Rebels without Applause by James Tynion IV and Rian Sygh
  • Garbage Night by Jen Lee
  • I am Alfonso Jones by Tony Medina, Stacey Robinson and John Jennings
  • It’s Treason, by George! by Steve Hockensmith, Chris Kientz and Lee Nielsen
  • Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez
  • Space Battle Lunchtime Volume 2: A Recipe for Disaster by Natalie Reiss
  • The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O'Neill
  • Where’s Halmoni? by Julie Kim
  • Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag
Twitter activity