Credit: John Cassaday (AfterShock Comics)
Credit: Andrew Robinson

On the second anniversary of its debut, AfterShock Comics is announcing its first anthology - Shock. Scheduled to hit shelves March 20, Shock will include work by Neil Gaiman, Marguerite Bennett, Jim Starlin, Andrew Robinson, Bill Willingham, Brian Stelfreeze, Marc Guggenheim, and more.

"AfterShock has given me the most creative freedom I've had in my entire career - I'm always delighted to submit these twisted pitches and hear back that this is the one place those strangest stories can find a home," said Bennett. "For my own part, my story is a family revenge drama set in a border town in the 1970s - a ghastly little tale about the gifts that give, and the gifts that take. I'm thrilled to be a part of such a splendid anthology."

Credit: AfterShock Comics

The 160-page book will be published in a European album-style format such as used for the recent Animosity: The Rise hardcover.

"'Metroclash' is an idea that’s been burning a hole in my notebook for years: What if cities could fight like people?" explained Guggenheim of his story. "It’s the kind of huge, visually-driven idea that could only be done in comics. My story centers on a clash between New York City and Chicago and I couldn’t be more excited about getting this crazy, bombastic concept out into the world.”

Shock is being overseen by AfterShock publisher Joe Pruett, who was the creator/editor of the seminal cult anthology Negative Burn.

Here is the solicitation for Shock:

Credit: John Cassaday (AfterShock Comics)

SHOCK HC / $34.99 / 160 pages / Color / on sale 03.20.18
AfterShock Comics continues to push boundaries by presenting it’s very first anthology collection featuring a slew of today’s top writers and artists. Presented in the European Album format (same as the recent Animosity: the Rise hardcover for LCSD), this handsome hardcover features the creative talents of Bill Willingham, Marguerite Bennett, Mike Carey, Jim Starlin, Michael Zulli, Charles Vess, Michael Gaydos, Andy Clarke, Andrew Robinson, Sarah Delaine, Phil Hester, Paul Jenkins, Neil Gaiman, Dalibor Talajic, Travis Moore, Brian Azzarello, Francesco Francavilla, Cullen Bunn, Marc Guggenheim, Frank Tieri, Brian Stelfreeze, and more! Cover art by John Cassaday!
From the multiple Eisner and Harvey Award nominated editor of the classic Negative Burn anthology series.

Twitter activity