2017 JOE SHUSTER AWARDS Winners (Full List)

Batman: The Golden Age Omnibus TP Vol. 1
Credit: Michael Cho (DC Comics)
Credit: David Rubin (Dark Horse Comics)

The winners of the 2017 Joe Shuster Awards were given out in a privary industry gathering over the weekend in Toronto.

The Joe Shuster Awards were established in 2004 as Canada's top comics honors, and goes to Canadian citizens or permanent residents of the country. The nominees were chosen by the Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Association, with the winners determined by a private invitaiton-only jury.

Here are the nominees, with the winners marked in bold:

Webcomics Creator

  • Boum, Boumeries
  • Emily Carroll, Some Other Animal’s Meat
  • Nicole Chartrand, Fey Winds
  • Gisele Lagace and David Lumsdon, Pixie Trix Comics
  • Sam Logan, Sam & Fuzzy
  • Winston Rowntree, Subnormality
  • Ty Templeton, Bun Toons


  • Fanny Britt
  • Gord Downie
  • Brenden Fletcher
  • Jeff Lemire
  • Ryan North
  • Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Claude Paiement et Jean-Paul Eid
  • Chip Zdarsky

Cover Artist

  • Nick Bradshaw
  • Michael Cho
  • Mike Del Mundo
  • Gisele Lagace
  • Francois Miville-Deschenes
  • Yanick Paquette & Nathan Fairbairn
  • Ramon K. Perez
  • Marguerite Sauvage


  • Isabelle Arsenault
  • Jean-Paul Eid
  • David Finch
  • Stuart Immonen
  • Gisele Lagace
  • Jeff Lemire
  • Yanick Paquette
  • Fiona Staples


  • Kaare Kyle Andrews
  • CAB
  • Guy Delisle
  • Teva Harrison
  • Michel Hellman
  • Cookie Kalkair
  • Regis Loisel
  • Francis Manapul

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers)

Named after the late Howard Eugene Day (1951-1982), this award honours Canadian comic book creators or creative teams who self-published their work but did not have the books distributed by a third party such as Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc. The nominees were selected from individual publications submitted for review before the deadline of May 30th, 2016.

  • Mitch Cook & Keith Grachow, Saltwater #1 (Kika Mika Comics)
  • John Fleming & Colette Turner, Badassical #1 (Dapper Drone)
  • Michael Christopher Heron, Andrea Fort, & Sam Beck; Songs for the Dead #1 (Necromancer Press)
  • Jamie Michaels & Evin Collis, Canoe Boys (Dirty Water Comics)
  • Nunumi, Sky Rover
  • Various, Toronto Comics Vol. 3 (Toronto Comics Anthology)

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers)

Named after the Harry Kremer, the original owner of Now & Then Books (in Kitchener, Ontario). The CCBCAA maintains a list of active comic book stores and a database of recommendations, referrals and secret shopper reports. A separate Retailer Award Committee overseen by Scott VanderPloeg (Comic Book Daily) reviews the data and selects a short list of stores that have shown merit in a variety of categories. For inquiries please contact Scott at: kremerretailer@comicbookdaily.com

  • Cyber City Comics (North York, ON)
  • Drawn & Quarterly (Montreal, QC)
  • Golden Age Collectables (Vancouver, BC)
  • L’Imaginaire (Laurier, QC)
  • Timemasters (St. Johns, NF)

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids) / Le Prix Dragon (Bandes Dessinées pour Enfants)

This award recognizes the works which capture the attention and fascination of young readers, and help to create a passion for life-long reading. Works considered for this award are comic books and graphic novels by Canadian creators that are targeted at readers 14 and under. Nominees for this award are selected by a team of educators led by Jennifer Haines, MA, B.Ed., who is also the proprietor of Guelph, Ontario’s The Dragon comic book shop.

  • Alex A., Les experiences de Mini-Jean tome 1 (Presses Aventure)
  • Fanny Britt & Isabel Arsenault, Louis parmi les spectres (La Pastèque)
  • Scott Chantler, Three Thieves Vol. 7: Iron Hand (Kids Can Press)
  • Faith Erin Hicks, Nameless City Vol. 1 (:01 First Second)
  • Eric Orchard, Bera the One-Headed Troll (:01 First Second)
  • Guillaume Perrault, Le facteur de l’espace (La Pastèque)
  • J. Torres & Sean K. Dove, Brobots Vol. 1 (Oni Press)
Similar content
Twitter activity