MILLAR & QUITELY’s Unedited AUTHORITY #13-14 Added to WILDSTORM 25 YEARS Hardcover, More Details

"WildStorm: A Celebration of 25 Years" first look
Credit: DC Comics
Credit: DC Comics

The planned contents for DC Comics' upcoming WildStorm: A Celebration of 25 Years is changing, with co-founders Jim Lee and Brandon Choi changing their plans a new story and two controversial issues being published in their original uncensored format for the first time.

This week the publisher sent out a notice to retailers for a change to the planned August 23 hardcover - just four days before their deadline to place orders.

Credit: DC Comics

There will now be six new original stories in WildStorm: A Celebration of 25 Years. It will now include a The Authority 10-page story by Warren Ellis, Bryan Hitch, and Paul Neary; a 8-page Backlash story by Brett Booth and Norm Rapmund; a 3-page Deathblow story by Brandon Choi, Jim Lee, and Scott Williams (replacing the originally-solicited Wild.c.a.t.s. story by the trio); a 3-page Gen13 story by J. Scott Campbell and Scott Williams; a 8-page Majestic/World's End story by Dan Abnett and Neil Googe; and, a WildCats 2.0 5-page story by Christos Gage, Dustin Nguyen, and Richard Friend.

In addition to those six stories, there will be numerous new-pinups including Backlash by Brett Booth and Norm Rapmund, Brass by Carlos D'Anda, Cybernary by Pop Mhan, Deathblow by Lee Bermejo, Deathblow by Tim Sale, DV8 by Humberto Ramos, Ex Machina by Tony Harris, Eye of the Storm by Ben Oliver, Gen13 Bootleg by Adam Warren, Gen13 by Gary Frank, Jack Hawksmoor by Fiona Staples, Jet by Dustin Nguyen, Majestic by Eric Canete, Planetary by John Cassaday, Red by Cully Hamner, Sleeper by Sean Phillips, Stormwatch by Tom Raney, Top 10 by Gene Ha, Tranquility by Neil Googe, Wetworks by Whilce Portacio, WildCats by Ryan Benjamin, WildCats/Gen13 by Adam Hughes, and WorldStorm by Giuseppe Camuncoli and Sandra Hope. Several older but unpublished pieces of art by J. Scott Campbell, Ed McGuinness, Cully Hamner, Terry Dodson, Chris Sprouse, Phil Noto, Ethan Van Sciver and others will also now be a part of the book.

Credit: DC Comics

And in a bit of rare and unseen work from WildStorm's archives, the book will have Mark Millar and Frank Quitely's "original, unedited versions" of The Authority #13 and #14. Those two original 2000 issues underwent significant editorial revisions before publication, with art and dialogue changes to a kiss between Midnighter and Apollo, an attack on real-life then-Indonesian President B.J. Habibie, and the editing of a team of Avengers analogues to look less like the Marvel superhero team.

The book will also include Grant Morrison's outline and character notes for WildCats: Worldstorm, as well as the script for the unproduced Wildcats #2.

Similar content
Twitter activity