Slate & CCS' 5th Annual Cartoonist Studio Prize Nominees

Cartoonist Studio Prize
Credit: Slate Book Review/Center for Cartoon Studies

The nominees for both categories of the fifth annual Cartoonist Studio Prize have been named by Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies. The ultimate winners will be selected by Slate's Jacob Brogan, unspecified faculty and students from CCS, and guest judge Karen Green.

The winners of both categories is scheduled to be announced April 10, and receive $1,000 each.

Nominees for Best Print Comic of 2016:

  • Burt's Way Home by John Martz (Koyama Press)
  • Canopy by Karine Bernadou (Retrofit/Big Planet Comics)
  • Hilda & the Stone Forest by Luke Pearson (Flying Eye Books)
  • Libby's Dad by Eleanor Davis (Retrofit/Big Planet Comics)
  • March: Book 3 by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, & Nate Powell (IDW/Top Shelf)
  • Rolling Blackouts by Sarah Glidden (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Rosalie Lightning by Tom Hart (St. Martin's Press)
  • The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)
  • The Longest Day of the Future by Lucas Varela (Fantagraphics)
  • We All Wish For Deadly Force by Leela Corman (Retrofit/Big Planet Comics)

Nominees for Best Webcomic of 2016:

  • Greek Diary by Glynnis Fawkes
  • I Trained To Fight The Enemy by Jess Ruliffson
  • Normel Person by Lauren Weinstein
  • On A Sunbeam by Tillie Walden
  • On Beauty by Christina Tran
  • Rejected Anthology Submission by Meghan Lands
  • Riverbound by Päivi Niinikangas
  • The Secrets in My Mother's Nightstand by Sophia Wiedeman
  • THe Unofficial Cuckoo's Nest by Luke Healy
  • Wonderlust by Diana Nock
Twitter activity