COMICSPRO Honors COOKE & BERGER, Votes On New Board Members

ComicsPRO logo
Credit: ComicsPRO

ComicsPRO held its annual membership meeting February 16 through 18 in Memphis, Tennessee, and handed out two awards as well as handled some internal business.

The late Darwyn Cooke was honored with the ComicsPRO Memorial Award. The other nominees were Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson, Steve Dillon, and Don Thompson.

Vertigo founder Karen Berger was awarded the ComicsPRO industry award, beating out fello nominees Bob Overstreet, Maggie Thompson, and Bud Plant. Berger used the occassion to announce her new line at Dark Horse, Berger Books.

ComicsPRO also used the membership meeting as as a chance to replace the vacant board seat left by the retiring Joe Field. Steve Olsen of Scotch Plains' A Little Shop of Comics was elected to fill the position, with the board now consisisting of Peter Dolan (President), Jamye Foster (Vice-President), Ralph Mathieu (Treasurer), Chris Brady (4 Color Fantasies), Jennifer Haines (Director), Patrick Brower (Director), and Steve Olsen (Director).

Twitter activity