Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics
Credit: Long Beach Comic Expo

The nominees for the third annual Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics has been revealed via The Hollywood Reporter. The award was established to highlight diversity both in the creators and the creation, and was founded in 2015 in honor of the late comic book and animation professional Dwayne McDuffie.

The nominees are:

  • Upgrade Soul by Ezra Claytan Daniels
  • Shaft: Imitation of Life by David Walker and Dietrich Smith
  • Amazing Forest by Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas and more
  • StarHammer by J. N. Monk and Harry Bogosian
  • 14 Nights by Kristina Stipetic

The winner is scheduled to be announced in a cerenomy February 18 at the Long Beach Comic Expo.

"I am pleased to once again welcome another group of outstanding work and all of these remarkable  creators to be forever associated with my late husband's name, and I look forward to seeing where our 2017 nominees' careers go from here," said Dwayne's widow, Charlotte (Fullerton) McDuffie."Everything they create from now on, they'll do attached to Dwayne's reputation for not just inclusiveness but excellence. Please continue to do him proud in all ways, always."

The judges for this year's award are Mark D. Bright, Neo Edmund, Joan Hilty, Joseph Illidge, Heidi MacDonald, Don McGregor, Kevin Rubio, Cassandra Pelham, Gail Simone, Will J. Watkins, Matt Wayne, and Len Wein.

Similar content
Twitter activity