DEADPOOL Gets More Nominations As Movie Awards Season Ramps Up

"Deadpool" pool party
Credit: 20th Century Fox

20th Century Fox's Deadpool has been nominated for "Best Adapted Screenplay" for the 2017 Writers Guild Awards. The awards, presented by the Writers Guild of America, recognizes "outstanding achievement in screenwriting."

Here is a full list of nominees. The award winners will be announced February 19 in a bi-coastal event taking place in Los Angeles and New York City.


  • Hell or High Water, Written by Taylor Sheridan; CBS Films
  • La La Land, Written by Damien Chazelle; Lionsgate
  • Loving, Written by Jeff Nichols; Focus Features
  • Manchester by the Sea, Written by Kenneth Lonergan; Amazon Studios/Roadside Attractions
  • Moonlight, Written by Barry Jenkins, Story by Tarell McCraney; A24


  • Arrival, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer; Based on the Story “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang; Paramount Pictures  
  • Deadpool, Written by Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick; Based on the X-Men Comic Books; Twentieth Century Fox Film
  • Fences, Screenplay by August Wilson; Based on his Play; Paramount Pictures  
  • Hidden Figures, Screenplay by Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi; Based on the Book by Margot Lee Shetterly; Twentieth Century Fox Film
  • Nocturnal Animals, Screenplay by Tom Ford; Based on the Novel Tony and Susan by Austin Wright; Focus Features


  • Author: The JT LeRoy Story, Written by Jeff Feuerzeig; Amazon Studios
  • Command and Control, Telescript by Robert Kenner and Eric Schlosser, Story by Brian Pearle and Kim Roberts; Based on the book Command and Control by Eric Schlosser; American Experience Films
  • Zero Days, Written by Alex Gibney; Magnolia Pictures
Similar content
Twitter activity