12th Annual JOE SHUSTER AWARD Winners

We Stand On Guard #1
We Stand On Guard #1
Credit: Image Comics

The winners of the 12th Annual Joe Shuster Awards were announced this past weekend at an event during Forest City Comic Con in London, Ontario. Overseen by the Canadian Comic Book Creators Awards Association and its director Kevin A. Boyd, the Shuster Awards are Canada's top honor for the creation of comics in the country.

Here is a list of the nominees in each category, with the winner notated in bold:


  • Brendan Fletcher – Batgirl, Black Canary, Gotham Academy (DC Comics)
  • Normand Grégoire- La petite patrie (La Pastèque)
  • Kathryn Immonen – Russian Olive to Red King (Adhouse Books), Operation S.I.N., Agent Carter: SHIELD Anniversary Special (Marvel Comics)
  • Jeff Lemire – Justice League United  (DC Comics) Descender, Plutona (Image), All-New Hawkeye, Extraordinary X-Men (Marvel Comics), Book of Death: Fall of Bloodshot , Bloodshot Reborn (Valiant)
  • Ryan North – Adventure Time (Boom!) Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (Marvel Comics)
  • Chip Zdarsky – Jughead  (Archie) Kaptara  (Image Comics), Howard the Duck  (Marvel Comics)


  • Andy Belanger – Southern Cross (Image Comics)
  • Stuart Immonen – Russian Olive to Red King (Adhouse Books), All-New Captain America, Star Wars (Marvel Comics)
  • Leonard Kirk – Captain Canuck (ChapterHouse Comics) Fantastic Four, Squadron Supreme (Marvel Comics)
  • Julie Rocheleau – La petite patrie (La Pastèque)
  • Steve Skroce – We Stand on Guard  (Image Comics)
  • Fiona Staples – Archie  (Archie Comics), Saga  (Image Comics)
  • Cameron Stewart – Fight Club 2  (Dark Horse Comics)


  • Samuel Cantin – Whitehorse: Première partie (Éditions Pow Pow)
  • Michael DeForge – Dressing (Koyama Press)
  • Francis Manapul – Detective Comics  (DC Comics)
  • Michel Rabagliati – Paul dans le Nord (La Pastèque)
  • Ethan Rilly – Pope Hats 4 (Adhouse)
  • Seth – Palookaville 22 (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Jillian Tamaki – SuperMutant Magic Academy (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Zviane – Ping-Pong (Éditions Pow Pow)

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers)

  • Nemo Balkanski – The Deliverer
  • Stephen Gilbert – Colville
  • Kathleen Gros – Last Night at Wyrmwood High
  • A. Shay Hahn – Homeless G-Men 1-3, Battle Rally 1-2 and Crypto-Zombic 1
  • Various: Cloudscape Comics Collective – Epic Canadiana Vol. 2
  • Various: Toronto Comics Anthology – Toronto Comics, Vol 2

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers)

  • Another Dimension (Calgary, AB)
  • Librairie Drawn & Quarterly (Montreal, QC)
  • Gotham Central (Mississauga, ON)
  • The Comic Hunter (Moncton, NB)
  • Time Masters (St. John’s, NF)

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids)

  • March Grand Prix (Stone Arch Press) – Kean Soo
  • Awkward (Yen Press) – Svetlana Chmakova
  • Sex is a Funny Word (Seven Stories Press) – Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth
  • Child Soldier: When Boys and Girls are Used in War (Kids Can Press) – Michel Chikwanine, Jessica Dee Humphreys, Claudia Davila
  • Windmill Dragons (Toon Books) – David Nytra
  • l’Agent Jean Tome 08 (Presse Aventure) – Alex A.
  • Salome et les hommes en noir (Bayard Canada)- Valerie Amiraux, Francis Desharnais
  • Le prisonnier sans frontieres (Archambault) – Jacques Goldstyn

Additional awards handed out were:

  • The T.M. Maple Award to John Bell
  • Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame: Tedd Steele, Levy (a.k.a. Shirley Fortune), Fred Kelly, Mark Shainblum, Darwyn Cooke
Similar content
Twitter activity