Thor: Ragnarok concept art
Thor: Ragnarok concept art
Credit: Marvel Studios

Marvel has unveiled the cast list for 2017’s Thor: Ragnarok. Along with the revelation that long-rumored cast member Cate Blanchett will be playing the film’s villain, Hela, the ruler of the Asgardian underworld, recently announced addition Tessa Thompson was confirmed to be playing Valkyrie, the Asgardian warrior who, in mythology, collects the souls of the dead.

Along with confirmation of Thompson and Blanchett’s characters, two new cast members were announced. Jeff Goldblum will join the production as the Grandmaster, another Elder of the Universe and brother of Guardians of the Galaxy’s Collector, and Karl Urban joins the cast as Skurge, the Executioner (the sometimes companion of the Enchantress). For more on these characters, read our companion article.

Chris Hemsworth returns in the title role, and is joined by his Avengers co-star Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner/the Hulk. Also returning are Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Idris Elba as Heimdall, and Anthony Hopkins as Odin. No mention was made of the Warriors Three, Sif, or Thor’s Earthbound supporting cast Erik Selvig or Darcy. Natalie Portman who played Thor’s love interest Jane Foster and who was previously said to not be returning, is also not listed among the cast

“The continuation of the epic Thor franchise will be powerful and unique, and with the additions of Cate, Jeff, Tessa, Karl, and Mark to the cast we have the makings of his most dangerous and heroic adventure yet,” said Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige. “The sheer, raw talent each of these actors brings to the screen can’t be quantified. Having any one of them join the Marvel Cinematic Universe would be an honor, and having all of them is incredible."

Thor: Ragnarok is due out in theaters November 3, 2017.

Similar content
Twitter activity