2015 IGNATZ AWARD Nominations

"Pope Hats #4" cover by Ethan Rilly
Credit: Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

The Small Press Expo has announced the nominees for it's 2015 Ignatz Awards. The winners will be announced in an awards ceremony during this year's SPX on September 19 and 20 in Bethesda, Maryland's North Bethesda Marriott convention center. The jurors were Sophia Goldstein, Lamar Abrams, Cara Bean, Robyn Chapman and Corrine and Corrine Mucha.

Outstanding Artist
Emily Carroll, “Through The Woods”
Ed Luce, “Wuvable Oaf”
Roman Muradov, “(In a Sense) Lost and Found”
Jillian Tamaki, “SuperMutant Magic Academy”
Noah Van Sciver, “Saint Cole”

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
“Drawn and Quarterly, 25 Years of Contemporary Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels,” edited by Tom Devlin, Chris Oliveros, Peggy Burns, Tracy Hurren, and Julia Pohl-Miranda
“An Entity Observes All Things,” by Box Brown
“How To Be Happy,” by Eleanor Davis
“Pope Hats #4,” by Ethan Rilly
“SuperMutant Magic Academy,” by Jillian Tamaki

Outstanding Graphic Novel
“Beauty,” by Kerascoët and Hubert
“The Oven,” by Sophie Goldstein
“Rav,” by Mickey Zacchilli
“Saint Cole,” by Noah Van Sciver
“Wendy,” by Walter Scott

Outstanding Story
“Doctors,” by Dash Shaw
“Me As a Baby,” by Michael DeForge (from Lose #6)
“Nature Lessons,” by Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger (from The Late Child and Other Animals)
“Sex Coven,” by Jillian Tamaki (from Frontier #7)
“Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness,” by Kris Mukai

Promising New Talent
M. Dean, “K.M. & R.P. & MCMLXXI (1971)”
Sophia Foster-Dimino, “Sphincter, Sex Fantasy”
Dakota McFadzean, “Don’t Get Eaten by Anything”
Jane Mai, “Soft”
Gina Wynbrandt, “Big Pussy”

Outstanding Series
“Dumb,” by Georgia Webber
“Frontier,” edited by Ryan Sands
“March,” by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell
“Pope Hats,” by Ethan Rilly
“Sex Fantasy,” by Sophia Foster-Dimino

Outstanding Comic
“Borb,” by Jason Little
“The Nature of Nature,” by Disa Wallander
“The Oven,” by Sophie Goldstein
“Pope Hats 4,” by Ethan Rilly
“Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness,” by Kris Mukai

Outstanding Minicomic
“Devil’s Slice of Life,” by Patrick Crotty
“Epoxy 5,” by John Pham
“King Cat #75,” by John Porcellino
“Sex Fantasy #4,” by Sophia Foster-Dimino
“Whalen: A Reckoning,” by Audry

Outstanding Online Comic
The Bloody Footprint, by Lilli Carre
Carriers, by Lauren Weinstein
Mom Body, by Rebecca Roher
O Human Star, by Blue Delliquanti
Witchy, by Ariel Ries

Similar content
Twitter activity