2009 Eisner Hall of Fame Nominees Named

2009 Eisner Hall of Fame Nominees

Press Release

Comic-Con International (Comic-Con), the largest comic book and popular arts event in the United States, announced today that voting is now open for the Hall of Fame category of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards.

To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics industry, whether as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, or a retailer (comics store owner or manager). Eligible voters can visit eisnervote.com to register and then select up to four picks in the Hall of Fame category. The deadline for voting is March 26. Further eligibility information is provided on the Eisner Voting page.

The 2009 Hall of Fame nominees are:

Matt Baker

Bill Blackbeard

Alberto Breccia

Reed Crandall

Rudolph Dirks

Russ Heath

Jerry Iger

Jack Jackson

Paul S. Newman

Bob Oksner

Antonio Prohías

» Click here for bios for Hall of Fame Nominees

Judges' Hall of Fame Selections for 2009

The judges have also selected two individuals to automatically be inducted into the Hall of Fame: Harold Gray, the creator of Little Orphan Annie, and Graham "Ghastly" Ingels, famed EC comics horror artist.

The 2009 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of Amanda Emmert (owner of Muse Comics & Games in Missoula, MT), Mike Pawuk (teen services public librarian for the Cuyahoga, Ohio County Public Library), John Shableski (Diamond Book Distributors sales manager), Ben Towle (graphic novelist and comics arts educator), and Andrew Wheeler (comics and manga reviewer at ComixMix.com).

The judges were assisted by students at Vermont's Center for Cartoon Studies, who made suggestions for Hall of Fame nominees and provided background information on the people they suggested. Eisner Awards administrator Jackie Estrada notes that the contributions of the students was very helpful and is looking forward to working with CCS instructor Steve Bissette and his students again next year.

About the Voting

The online voting process is being conducted by Mel Thompson and Associates, the official tabulators of the Eisner Awards. The rest of the categories will be available for online voting in mid-April. In addition, paper ballots will still be mailed out and a pdf version will be available for downloading; the paper ballots will be tabulated along with the online votes for the other categories.

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are underwritten by Comic-Con, the nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

Questions about the awards can be addressed to Jackie Estrada, 619-414-1020, jackie@comic-con.org

» Click for information on Hall of Fame voter eligibility

Twitter activity