'Watchmen' Original Score and Soundtrack Details Released

Dave Gibbons on Watchmen Motion Comics

March 3rd is the street date set for the release of the both the Original Score and Soundtrack for Warner Bros. highly-anticipated big-screen adaptation of Watchmen, Warner Sunset/Reprise Records announced Thursday. The film is due to open nationwide March 6th.

Music From The Motion Picture Watchmen, the film's official soundtrack, includes My Chemical Romance's reinterpretation of Bob Dylan's "Desolation Row," recorded exclusively for the film. The band's frontman Gerard Way is well-known to comic book readers as the creator of the popular Dark Horse Comics title Umbrella Academy. The soundtrack also features a collection of classic songs by such artists as Nat King Cole, Simon & Garfunkel, and Janis Joplin, which according to the announcement, "once heard in the context of the film, will never be thought of the same way again."

Watchmen Original Motion Picture Score features music by recording artist, composer, and music producer Tyler Bates, who was asked to score the film by Watchmen director Zack Snyder. Tyler, who also scored the Snyder-directed films 300 and Dawn of the Dead, has also scored the soundtracks to The Day the Earth Stood Still, Showtime's Californication, Slither, Rob Zombie's Halloween, and The Devil's Rejects. According to the announcement, he is known for his "surprising juxtapositions of music styles and flair for delicate, atmospheric touches, as well as stressing emotional vibrancy over traditional formulas of music compositions."

Bates has also been chosen to score the Watchmen's DVD added story, "Tales From The Black Freighter."

Both collections will be released in multiple formats – the physical CD and a digital album will be available on March 3rd, and a vinyl edition of the soundtrack will be released on March 17th.

Music From The Motion Picture Watchmen track-listing is as follows:

1. Desolation Row – My Chemical Romance

2. Unforgettable – Nat King Cole

3. The Times They Are A-Changin' – Bob Dylan

4. The Sound Of Silence – Simon & Garfunkel

5. Me & Bobby McGee – Janis Joplin

6. I'm Your Boogie Man – KC & The Sunshine Band

7. You're My Thrill – Billie Holiday

8. Pruit Igoe & Prophecies – The Philip Glass Ensemble

9. Hallelujah – Leonard Cohen

10. All Along The Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix

11. Ride of the Valkyries – Budapest Symphony Orchestra

12. Pirate Jenny – Nina Simone*

* - used in the end credits of the "Tales From The Black Freighter" DVD.

Watchmen Original Motion Picture Score track-listing is as follows

1. Rescue Mission

2. Don't Get Too Misty Eyed

3. Tonight The Comedian Died

4. Silk Spectre

5. We'll Live Longer

6. You Quit!

7. Only Two Names Remain

8. The American Dream

9. Edward Blake – The Comedian

10. The Last Laugh

11. Prison Fight

12. Just Look Around You

13. Dan's Apocalyptic Dream

14. Who Murdered Hollis Mason?

15. What About Janie Slater?

16. I'll Tell You About Rorschach

17. Countdown

18. It Was Me

19. All That Is Good

20. Requiem (Excerpted from Mozart's Requiem)

21. I Love You Mom

Twitter activity