12 Gauge and Trace Adkins Bring You MCBAIN

12 Gauge & Trace Adkins Bring You MCBAIN

COUNTRY MUSIC STAR TRACE ADKINS BECOMES A COMIC BOOK ACTION HERO IN NOVEMBER’S ‘LUKE MCBAIN’

 

ORIGINAL MINISERIES TEAMS ADKINS WITH COMICS CREATORS DAVID TISCHMAN, KODY CHAMBERLAIN AND BRIAN STELFREEZE

Birmingham, AL (August 26, 2009) – Award-winning country star Trace Adkins will take on a new persona this November, when he appears in Luke McBain, his first original comic book miniseries from 12 Gauge Comics.  Adkins becomes the first country artist to invent an alter ego in comic books, in a hard-as-nails adventure story of revenge and redemption, in the tradition of “Walking Tall” and “Billy Jack.”  Luke McBain will be available in comic book stores throughout North America.

 

“The McBain character kicks ass and takes names,” says writer David Tischman (Red Herring). “But the character also has a compassionate side, and he makes the hard choices few others have the guts to make.”  Luke McBain takes place in rural Louisiana, as Adkins’ character returns to his small hometown after serving 14 years in prison.

Tischman is joined on the project by artist Kody Chamberlain (30 Days of Night: Bloodsucker Tales), and acclaimed cover artist Brian Stelfreeze (Batman: Shadow of the Bat).

 

Luke McBain #1 is in stores this November and is available for order in this month’s Previews.

“Working with Trace and his team has been a fantastic experience, and our group of talented creators have given life to the character of Luke McBain; this is a very exciting time for our company,” says 12 Gauge Comics publisher Keven Gardner.

The title’s launch coincides with Adkins’ latest nationwide tour.

SOLICITATION INFORMATION:

Luke McBain #1 (of 4)

Writer: David Tischman ("Red Herring," "Bite Club")

Artist: Kody Chamberlain (“30 Days of Night: Bloodsucker Tales," "Punks")

Cover Art: Brian Stelfreeze (“Batman: Shadow of the Bat,” “Wednesday Comics”)

Diamond Order Code: SEP090986

"Back to Eden" Part 1 of 4: Country superstar TRACE ADKINS is LUKE MCBAIN, a man who makes the hard decisions.  He doesn't say much, but he'll kick your ass if you get out of line.  He's returned to his Northern Louisiana hometown to settle a score, but the town has changed, and the people he grew up with need his help. God help anyone who gets in his way.

LUKE MCBAIN is ™ and © 12 GAUGE COMICS, DAVID TISCHMAN, and TRACE ADKINS, 2009. All Rights Reserved.

 

For more information and latest news on Trace Adkins, visit www.traceadkins.com.

 

12 Gauge Comics was founded by Keven Gardner in 2004 and currently publishes some of the most successful and critically acclaimed independent comic books in the marketplace today.  THE RIDE #1 (the first 12 Gauge title) debuted as the top-selling black and white comic of the year in 2004. 12 Gauge members Doug Wagner, Jason Pearson, Brian Stelfreeze, and Cully Hamner are currently creating new and innovative multi-media concepts for the company. Successful titles like BODY BAGS and ROSARIO DAWSON’s THE O.C.T. will soon be joined by the BOONDOCK SAINTS comic series, based on writer/director TROY DUFFY’s wildly popular films. 12 Gauge previously found a niche in the music industry by packaging comics for the rock band Coheed & Cambria and is now taking that experience to Nashville for the launch of LUKE MC BAIN, featuring country music superstar TRACE ADKINS as the lead character.

For more information about 12 Gauge Comics, visit www.12gaugecomics.com.

Twitter activity